Video game book and movie reviews

Video game book reviews

In this section, I review video game-related books and movies based on video games. The video game book reviews focus on ease-of-read, how well the content conforms to the book's advertised video gaming subject matter, as well as the overall level of entertainment. Video game movie reviews are based on several factors including production values, quality of acting, script integrity, and most importantly, how well the movie captures the essence of the video game.

Disclaimer: I've watched every video game movie I review in its entirety, and I've read each video game book I review in its entirety. I do this so that I can give a truly fair review.

Video game book reviews

Video Game Book Reviews

Masters of doom book review
Masters of Doom book review
Review Score: 100%
Published: 2003
Review Date: October 23rd, 2006
Author: David Kushner


Doom has long been one of my favorite game franchises, and no other medium captures the essence of id software like Masters of Doom. It lucidly and colorfully chronicles the various people and events responsible for the formation, and success, of one of the world’s most respected game developers. Rather than focusing solely on the positives, Masters of Doom digs deep to describe some of the heated internal battles and subsequent dismissals as well, including the infamous Ion Storm debacle. Both John Carmack and John Romero signed-off on its accuracy, which was actually a prerequisite for publication. Much like a fine wine, it's hard to put down. In fact, I've read Masters of Doom three times, and will continue to revisit it.



Extra Live book review
Extra Lives book review 
Review Score: 68%
Published: 2010
Review Date: July 20th, 2010
Author: Tom Bissell

Extra Lives is comprised of several non-related chapters, each focused on a different game franchise (Fallout 3, Gears of War, Mass Effect, GTA IV, etc.), that include personal stories and experiences, behind-the-scenes commentary, as well as interviews with game designers and developers.

Sounds great, right? Literally five minutes into this book, I got the distinct feeling the author wasn’t really a gamer. Once curiosity got the better of me, I did a little research and discovered he apparently had never written about gaming before, and was considered by many to be a travel writer. Huh? His verbose writing style means you’ll repeatedly read in 20 words what could have easily been condensed into five, and he seizes every opportunity to insert unnecessarily pompous words such as atavistic, determinative, enfilade, mise-en-scene, maximal, and so many others (these were just a few I pulled from the first several pages of the book). The chapter on Fallout 3 was 14 pages long, but should have been four. Here's an excerpt from the first chapter: "Can it really be a surprise that deeper human motivations remain beyond the reach of something that regards character as the assignation of numerical values to hypothetical abilities and characteristics." Yaaaawwnnn. He regularly conveys, most certainly unintentionally, what comes across as trying to prove he’s intelligent, including brief irrelevant tangents on his academic roots. Oh, and I’m convinced his two favorite words are “narrative” and “ludonarrative,” both of which are peppered consistently throughout the book.

His supposed passion for gaming seems manufactured at times, and this is further cemented by his seemingly narrow exposure to anything but blockbuster titles such as Call of Duty 4, Bioshock, Fable 2, Fallout 3, Left 4 Dead, and other very recent franchises. Let’s not forget his regular references to his affinity for doing cocaine while playing games. Specifically, he spent time reminiscing about his cocaine-induced GTA IV 30-hour marathon in Vegas. Here are a couple quotes from the book: “Video games and cocaine feed my impulsiveness…” and “As for GTA IV, there is surely a reason it was the game I most enjoyed playing on coke.”

Surprisingly, this literary work isn’t a total loss. The chapter on Epic Games (developers of the Gears of War franchise) was a major page-turner, albeit a brief respite from the overall bland flavor of this book. I forced myself to finish it, mainly because I had the hopeful rationale of, “Maybe the next chapter will be better.”




Play money book review
Play Money: Or, How I Quit My Day Job and Made Millions Trading Virtual Loot book review  
Review Score: 87%
Published: 2010
Review Date: August 16th, 2010
Author: Julian Dibbell

Play Money is, at its core, is a chronology of events the author underwent as he made definitive strides at building a sustainable video game based business.  His job, so-to-speak, was to act as a trader of virtual goods within the Ultima Online game world. Items consisted of gold, which he would buy wholesale and sell retail, as well as various rare weapons and artifacts from within the game.  It was virtual arbitrage—finding undervalued items and selling them at a profit. He spent a tremendous amount of time honing his craft. 

Peppered throughout the tale are fascinating side quests including the theory of why MMORPG players spend as much time playing online as they do, even when doing mind-numbingly repetitive tasks.  His theory of economic scarcity within video games was explained with panache. Things get a bit drier (and verbose) when he delves into hypotheses on human entertainment and fun’s role in society (or lack thereof).   

The author details the sometimes shady gold farming market, even demonizing it at times, despite trying it himself (albeit unsuccessfully) when lured with the notion of easy money. Some of my favorite sections dealt with the ongoing saga of his counterparts and their successes and failures attempting to exploit new ways to take advantage of the online video game world. One persistent team of two milked the system of over $100,000 worth of gold in just a few days before self-policing themselves. 

The full title of the book, “Play Money: Or, How I Quit My Day Job and Made Millions Trading Virtual Loot”  is misleading, but not maliciously so.  He does indeed make millions, but not dollars—instead, they are Britannia gold pieces—the currency of Ultima online. Wondering about the exchange rate?  Well, you can buy 1,000,000 Britannia gold for a paltry 99-cents online as of the date of this review. 
 
In one unexpected tangent, he meets with an IRS agent (and later a phone consultation with a specialized agent) to essentially convince them that his Ultima Online trading profits should be taxed. They resisted, but he energetically pleads his case. He was even prepared to submit an official request to the IRS, but the cost was prohibitive. It was probably the first time in U.S. history someone lobbied to be taxed and I found it to be slightly maddening. Kind of like that kid in school who would remind the teacher that recess is technically over, thus penalizing everyone in exchange for a moment of basking in an “oh, yes, you’re right” from the teacher. 

Aside from a few loquacious sections, and the above IRS incidents, Play Money was an unequivocal page-turner.  I thoroughly enjoyed reading it from cover to cover and recommend it to anyone who is even mildly curious about video game virtual economies, and the opportunities therein.




Unplugged video game book review
Unplugged: My Dark Journey Into The Dark World of Video Game Addiction book review
Review Score: 91%
Published: 2010
Review Date: September 23rd, 2010
Author: Ryan Van Cleave, PhD.

This engaging book is a brutally honest narrative of one man’s despondent voyage into video game addiction.  While many specialists question the validity of true video game “addiction,” the author vehemently defends it as real—as real as any other dependence. 
 
A considerable amount of time is spent detailing what led up to the author’s gaming addiction, and if I had to guess, I’d say 15% or less of the book is actually about video games.  Don’t let that dissuade you from purchasing the book, though, because it’s actually a really easy read and far more entertaining than you would expect.  In fact, I read the entire book over the course of a few flights during a work trip to Asia, and my wife said I laughed out loud several times—it’s actually really funny at times. 
 
Another big plus: the author doesn’t resort to what I would term “Big Word Syndrome”—something many writers succumb to in an attempt to impress the reader. I deplore it. The writing in this book is smooth and never condescending. 
 
The depths of despair to which this man fell are revisited in painful detail, leading up to a period when video gaming literally enveloped his life—sleeping three hours or less per day, skipping family meals, his mind almost constantly focused on the MMORPG World of Warcraft.  The author seems to have unearthed every imaginable misstep in his life for the world to read, never sugar-coating his unimaginable blunders with worn-out excuses.  It’s simultaneously comical, and sad, to hear him describe how he essentially ignored the real world, and instead lived in the world of Azeroth.
 
There are a few times when I wondered to myself, “What does this have to do with video game addiction?” While these rabbit trails don’t appear to relate to the subject of the book, they’re amusing nonetheless.  The bottom-line: this is one of those books that you read and thank God it’s not your life.


Video game movie reviews

Video Game Movie Reviews

Doom movie review
Doom movie review
Review Score: 88%
Released: 2005
Review Date: January 10th, 2007
Director: Andrzej Bartkowiak
Budget: $60 million
Gross Revenue: $56 million

For those of you who are not familiar with the three existing Doom games (1, 2, and 3), the plot is quite simple: a portal to Hell has been opened at the Union Aerospace Corporation facility on Mars—kill everything that moves. What’s interesting is that this movie does not align itself plot-wise with any of the aforementioned Doom games, despite their very simple premise. The main storyline is predicated upon an elite marine squad (led by The Rock and Karl Urban) that must travel to Mars via a recently discovered ancient teleportation device nicknamed the Ark. Their mission is to determine why all communication has been lost with the UAC, and to secure all corporate research intelligence.

Once they reach the almost vacant facility, they are confronted with ravenous creatures who, as a surviving scientist explains, have a 24th chromosome. They discover that when a human is infected with the 24
th chromosome, a distinct transformation takes place—first the person becomes a zombie, then an imp—unless the chromosome chooses to make the person superhuman instead. It’s a crap-shoot. Weird. Anyway, the environments are very similar to what you find in Doom 3’s opening level—a sterile, segmented, metal-laden research facility.

The enemies are pulled from across the franchise and were the highlight of this film. Included are imps, zombies, the Hell Knight (apparently the original carrier of the infection), and the Pinky. I found the Pinky attack sequence to be really nerve-wracking, and I really liked how they linked the helpful Admin (nicknamed “Pinky”) to the development of the creature. It would have been nice to see some of the other interesting monsters such as the disturbing Cherubs, the venerable Cacodemon, the Revenant, and especially the corpulent Mancubus.

The much-heralded first-person-shooter sequence within the movie is really well done, fairly long, and will be appreciated by anyone who has toyed around with a FPS before. The acting was solid overall, as Karl Urban and Rosamund Pike stood out and lent some legitimacy to the cast. The Rock was pretty cliché, and was actually nominated for a Raspberry Award in the Worst Actor category—ouch. The character named Portman was just plain annoying. There were a couple clever references to Doom lore that non-fans would no doubt miss, such as the inclusion of two scientists named Willits and Carmack (a nod to Tim Willits and John Carmack of id Software). The BFG is used prominently in the movie, although there are versions of the film that apparently refer to it as the “Bio-Force Gun.”

While the plot is somewhat contrived and the acting can be subpar at times, this movie redeems itself with the action you would expect, realistic monsters (not CGI), and proper homage to the Doom franchise. I've even got framed Doom movie poster signed by the Rock, Karl Urban, and Rosamund Pike.




Silent Hill video game move review
Silent Hill movie review
Review Score: 72%
Released: 2006
Review Date: October 20th, 2007
Director: Christophe Gans
Budget: $50 million
Gross Revenue: $97.6 million


It seems like it would be difficult to create a coherent movie based upon a franchise consisting of five games, and apparently it is. Initially this film pulls you in with its really creepy, fog-laden town and the particularly disturbing denizens. But, eventually the dull script and poor acting catch up, and I found myself wondering what direction this movie was headed. While the overall sound had a definite haunting quality, I thought the music was what really stood out as memorable. The cinematography was excellent, but was not enough to resuscitate this fairly disappointing flick. Oh, and the ending seemed eerily similar to a well-known movie starring Bruce Willis.



Mortal Kombat movie review
Mortal Kombat movie review
Review Score: 93%
Released: 1995
Review Date: April 29th, 2007
Director: Paul W.S. Anderson
Budget: $20 million
Gross Revenue: $122.2 million

As far as video game movie adaptations go, this is probably the best in existence. While not exactly an Oscar-worthy movie in its own right, Mortal Kombat successfully captures the aura of the game, including notable appearances from each of the game’s main characters, as well as a fairly discernable plot. Heck, even Gene Siskel gave it a thumbs-up.

Filmed in both California and Thailand, Christopher Lambert brings some credibility to the cast as earth’s best warriors wage battle against the Outworld in a once per generation Mortal Kombat Tournament. The soundtrack is terrific, and really adds something to the fight scenes (I even bought the album on iTunes). Fun Fact: our family friend started the band Psykosonik, which contributed one song to each of the Mortal Kombat movies. I remember staying overnight at their house on a number of occasions in high school (I was good friends with his brothers) and hearing them practice techno downstairs until well after midnight. I continue to enjoy this movie (you can pick it up for $10) and am hoping it comes out on Blu-ray eventually.




Mortal Kombat Annihilation movie review
Mortal Kombat: Annihilation movie review
Review Score: 63%
Released: 1997
Review Date: May 14th, 2007
Director: John R. Leonetti
Budget: $30 million
Gross Revenue: $51.4 million


This movie is an unworthy sequel to Mortal Kombat, and I was left wondering why they chose to switch directors (from the original). Johhny Cage, Sonya Blade, Scorpion, Sub Zero, and Raiden were all played by new actors, which seemed really odd.

Despite being released almost two years after the first movie, Annihilation actually had worse special effects—it was an unmitigated embarrassment at times. No, it was beyond embarrassing. I was not expecting the production values to be so horrid, like red lights used in caves to imitate the glow of flowing lava and abhorrent CGI. Come ON! The icing on the cake was the painful dialogue. There was actually one point where Scorpion taunted Sub Zero and Liu Kang by yelling “Suckers!!!” Yes, I cringed.

Raiden went from being powerful and revered in the first film, to an almost entirely inept afterthought in this sequel. Bridgette Wilson (the original Sonya Blade--she played the girlfriend in Billy Madison) supposedly declined a $750,000 offer to appear in this sequel—a wise, wise move. I will give the producers credit for working to include as many of the characters special moves as possible—including fatalities.




The king of kong documentary review
The King of Kong: A Fistfull of Quarters movie review
Review Score: 83%
Released: 2007
Review Date: July 24th, 2010
Director: Seth Gordon


Back in the early 80's, a young man named Billy Mitchell recorded a daunting score in Donkey Kong (957,300) that proved to be insurmountable for over two decades. This documentary chronicles Steve Wiebe's concerted effort to claim the world title from Billy Mitchell. Believe it or not, the narrative is absolutely loaded with deception, controversy, despondency, and redemption. The underbelly of those who monitor official video game scores is exposed as a tightly-knit, almost incestuous group, who tend to protect their own.

Billy Mitchell, the perennial King Kong ace, is clearly portrayed as an arrogant, impersonal jackass, and the director is in fact quoted as saying he's actually much worse than what is depicted in the film. I won't spoil anything by giving away the ending, but I will say that on March 8, 2010, a new record was set (1,061,700 points), rendering the events of this documentary irrelevant. Nevertheless, this is worth a watch, if for no other reason than to see how active classic gaming still is today.




Bloodrayne movie review
Bloodrayne movie review
Review Score: 23%
Released: 2005
Review Date: July 27th, 2010
Director: Sadly, Uwe Boll
Budget: $25 million
Gross Revenue: $3.65 million


Add this movie to Uwe Boll’s growing list of hack-jobs. If I could only ask one question about this movie, and trust me there are so many I would like to ask, it would be: how did so many recognizable actors and actresses sign on for this rancid crap? I mean, think about it, they each read the script and thought, “Yep, I’m not missing this one.” The cast includes a wig-wearing Michael Madsen (a grandiose mis-cast), Michelle Rodriguez (Blue Crush, S.W.A.T.), Billy Zane (The Mummy, Blood Diamond), Matthew Davis (Legally Blonde, Blue Crush), and…wait for it…wait for it…Oscar-winner Sir Ben Kingsley. What?! He should have horse-whipped his agent for this one.

The acting is almost wholly embarrassing, bordering on “is this a joke,” and the casting was hideously done. The actors and actresses are on different wavelengths throughout, and never even come within a hair’s breadth of creating some chemistry. Other than a few obligatory game tie-ins, you would never connect the two if you weren’t told one was based upon the other. If I had to come up with one positive thing to say about this movie, I suppose some of the CGI was well done, namely the facial animations. Let’s let some numbers do the talking: this film grossed $3.65 million at the box office, on a budget of $25 million. I think an 82% loss qualifies it as a behemoth commercial failure. The sequel, Bloodrayne II: Deliverance, was created in 2007 and not surprisingly went straight to DVD (and no, I wouldn’t dream of watching it).




Far Cry movie review
Far Cry movie review
Review Score: 76%
Released: 2008
Review Date: August 2nd, 2010
Director: Sadly, Uwe Boll
Budget: $30 million
Gross Revenue: approx. $850 thousand


I’m going to assume you have at least a rudimentary knowledge of the Far Cry game as I review this movie. With that said, the main cast members are German, complete with thick accents. The reason this makes absolutely no sense is because it’s incongruous with the actual game, upon which the movie is based. Make sense? It’s tantamount to producing a movie based upon the Resident Evil series, but with characters who have thick Australian accents. Huh? But, the game was created by a German company (Crytek), so I’ll cut them some slack. If you can get past that, this movie is, believe it or not, bearable to watch. Nothing in this movie stands out as unique or memorable, and it is fairly hackneyed in what it tries to accomplish. As I said, it’s bearable.

Jack Carver, the protagonist, is a laid-back ex-Special Forces soldier who now prefers the simple life, working as a boat charter captain. Valerie, the female reporter, is a optimistic and maybe a bit naive. Dr. Krueger is portrayed as an evil bio-engineer, devoid of morals and singularly focused on military contracts. So, it’s fair to say the three main characters are similar to what you witness within the game. The plot does depart from the game, however, as in the movie Valerie hires Jack to help her find her missing uncle (where’d that come from?) in a military-grade complex in the Pacific Northwest (not the island tropics as in the game), where they discover Dr. Krueger creating genetically-modified super soldiers (not entirely unlike the game). Plenty of run-of-the-mill action, a couple familiar faces, and a boat-load of gore are the lifeblood of this flick. Far Cry went straight to DVD (shocking, right?), but if you’re a fan of the original game, you’ll probably find some redeeming entertainment value.




Hitman movie review
Hitman movie review
Review Score: 88%
Released: 2007
Review Date: August 10th, 2010
Director: Xavier Gens
Budget: $30 million
Gross Revenue: $99,965,792


Timothy Olyphant (Live Free or Die Hard, The Crazies) plays the stoic Agent 47 in this well done video game adaptation. The film begins by showing Agent 47 as a child recruit, receiving the conspicuous bar code on the back of his bald head. This is actually a departure from the video game, where he is actually the product of cloning.

The bulk of the movie plays out like a mission within the game, but with more pizzazz. Agent 47’s agency sends him to assassinate the Russian President, when he suddenly realizes he’s being set up. I don’t want to give away too much, but suffice it to say the rest of the adventure is action-packed, involving several other organizations such as the CIA, Interpol, and the always ethical FSB (the old KGB). Contrary to the game, Agent 47 speaks frequently, shows emotion, and actually shows a bit of compassion, but nevertheless is accurately portrayed as a person who has no moral quandaries. Some viewers (read “idiots”) found the plot to be hard to follow, but I couldn’t disagree more.

Vin Diesel was originally signed-on to not only produce, but star in Hitman (he dropped-off the project). The film received 3 out of 4 stars from Roger Ebert, and grossed more than Old School at the box office (not bad!). There was a brief but obvious cameo of the game within the movie, which was a nice touch. There is actually an alternate ending on the DVD (which comes in Blu-ray), and it’s
very different from the cinema ending. There is a sequel in the works, and Timothy Olyphant will be returning as Agent 47. In all, this was an excellent video game based movie, and I wholeheartedly recommend it to game fans.




Max Payne movie review
Max Payne movie review 
Review Score: 79%
Released: 2008
Review Date: August 11th, 2010
Director: John Moore
Budget: $35 million
Gross Revenue: $85,761,789


If you’ve ever played the game, you know that it’s a dark adventure based upon revenge—payback if you will. The role of Max Payne was played by Mark Wahlberg, who was quoted as saying, “It's probably one of the edgier roles I've played but also the most layered. Here's a very happy guy who worked a dismal job, had a beautiful family. But the beauty in his life was taken away. He just goes on a rampage. It's all driven by emotion." That pretty much sums it up.
The movie did take certain liberties when it came to aligning with the video game, such as the inclusion of paranormal demonic beings and the oddity of not knowing why Max is seeking revenge until the middle of the movie (it’s shown at the beginning of the game). All that said, I don’t think fans of the game will be disappointed with the direction of the film.
The Max Payne franchise pioneered what’s commonly referred to as “bullet-time” in games (something that’s since been copied ad nauseum), and the movie pays tribute with a few cool sequences filmed with a special camera. The soundtrack was top notch for this dark flick, and was actually brilliantly composed using a de-tuned piano.
While perhaps not a perfect adaptation, the Max Payne movie reflects the dreary, despondent mood of the game, and with a budget of $35 million, it’s brimming with high quality camerawork and special effects, not to mention a fairly accomplished staff of actors.




Street Fighter movie review
Street Fighter movie review
Review Score: 68%
Released: 1994
Review Date: September 10th, 2010
Director: Steve E. de Souza
Budget: $35 million
Gross Revenue: $99,423,521


If you’re going to watch this movie, bring some nachos because it’s a cheese-fest. Surprisingly, there is very little fighting in Street Fighter—and most of it takes place towards the end of the movie. The plot revolves around M. Bison and his dastardly attempts to force the world into submission by holding hostages and demanding a ransom of $20 billion dollars. He plans on developing a new city appropriately named Bisonopolis (you can’t make this stuff up folks), as well as a new currency: Bison dollars. Guile, a military leader played by Jean Claude Van-damme, is sent to stop him.
I’ll give the movie credit for including all the characters from the game, some of which struck a pretty sharp resemblance to their in-game counterparts: Sagat (his face looks identical, but the actor is far too short), M. Bison (impeccable representation), and Zangief (the spitting-image) are depicted the most accurately. The rest were either ok, or just plain ridiculous. Five words: since when is Ryu asian?
The acting is pretty horrid overall, with Raul Julia (M. Bison) being a tolerable exception. There were actually times when I was embarrassed
for the actors—literally. In one weak attempt at a game tie-in, M. Bison remotely attacks Guile wutg missiles using a Street Fighter 2 joystick and buttons. Many of the special moves were shown, some really good (Guile’s scissor-kick, for example), and some really atrocious (M. Bison’s torpedo dive, although I’ll give them credit for making a strong attempt at concocting a realistic reason why M. Bison can fly through the air).
Upon reflection, I’m glad I watched Street Fighter 2, if for no other reason than it brought back some fond arcade memories. It’s definitely not a good movie, but if you’re a hardcore gamer who played (or plays) SF2, then you should absolutely give it a whirl.



Moral Kombat documentary review
Moral Kombat movie review
Review Score: 64%
Released: 2007
Review Date: August 19th, 2010
Director: Spencer Halpin
Budget: approximately $600,000

Initially this interview-laden documentary appears to advocate that video games are an unstoppable corrupting force plaguing our youth and fostering Columbine-like behavior. Senator Lieberman talks about how people become “hypnotically involved” in games, one mother contends that her son became “an expert shooter” because of gaming, and the recently disbarred Jack Thompson makes an obligatory appeal that there is a clear correlation between video games and violent behavior. Incidentally, what I find so ironic about detractors of gaming is that I would wager very few of them have ever spent a measurable amount of time playing a video game—their knowledge is purely hypothetical. The director is obviously in the corner of the aforementioned lynch-mob, but he does give the other perspective a moderate amount of air time.

The famous MIT professor Henry Jenkins is the voice of reason in this film, explaining in scientific yet understandable terms how video games are interpreted as play within our brains, delineated from reality without issue. He makes a number of cogent comments throughout the movie and comes off as very unbiased.

The backdrop for most interviews was any one of a number of clips from famous (or infamous) video games, including the relevant game audio—overall, the videography was top-shelf.

Keep in mind, I’m not supporting the minority of games that are clearly made with the intent of being controversial (I’m looking at you Rockstar)—I’m supporting their right to create those games. I vote with my checkbook. Certain games, such as Postal 2, are truly egregious. At the same time, I don’t think the entire industry can be judged because of the actions of a few bad apples.

One salient point made in the documentary: 90% of video games are purchased by someone over 18 years old, and 83% are purchased by parents. So, if violent video games are getting into the hands of young gamers, it’s more likely to be a parental failure, not an industry or regulatory failure. As a parent, you should know what games your children are playing, just the same as you should know what movies they’re watching. Interestingly enough, the director said that the movie wasn’t made for gamers—it was made for soccer moms who weren’t informed about the game debate.

In this gamer’s opinion, the film is a veiled swipe at violent video games. In modern day litigious America, personal responsibility has been thrown out the door—it’s always someone else’s fault. Violent behavior? Must be the games, so let’s sue the publisher. Nevermind the child may be enduring a horrible home life, or gets bullied at school, or is on depression medication.



Uwe Boll movie reviews
Uwe Boll: Butchering video game movies, one day at a time. 

You might be wondering how the noxious Uwe Boll has managed to continually produce movies when he’s such an unimaginable assclown. Well, rest assured, your intuition is correct—he’d never be able to make movies if it meant relying upon his abhorrent lack of ability and laughable box office resume.

Here’s the reason: He’s German, and in the past, Germany openly provided a tax loophole whereby investors in German entertainment were hedged (protected) by the government if things went south. So, if the film made money, you owed taxes on the profit, but if it lost money, you could deduct your entire investment. You could also write-off any fees associated with your investment if it was borrowed money.

Germany did this to encourage its homegrown entertainment industry. Simply put, Boll was an opportunistic parasite subsisting off German taxpayer funds. That is, until the law changed in 2005.

Hey, Video Game Informant, maybe he’s a decent guy who’s just trying to earn a living. Wrong. He has responds to his incalculable critics by calling them eloquent names such as “retard” and has requested that others do graphic and truly disturbing acts that I’m not going to type (he’s a class act, isn’t he folks?).

He has hired actual street prostitutes as movie stand-ins in a pinch (that’s standard moviemaking protocol, right?), and he’s a litigious degenerate who abuses the system by diabolically filing lawsuits any time he can dream up a reason (in what I can only imagine is the only way he’d ever make money off of his putrid movies).

He’s found a way to take advantage of German loopholes in the past, but now he’ll have to rely upon talent, of which he is devoid. During his horrid movie Alone in the Dark, you can actually see one of the characters who is “dead” on the ground start to get up before the scene ends. You’d think Uwe’s razor-sharp attention to detail would have caught this before it was sent to theaters, but then you’d be wrong.


That concludes my current listing of video game movie reviews and video game book reviews. I’ve had a lot of fun searching and watching the above-listed books and movies, since video games are a passion of mine. Hopefully that comes through plainly in my text.